Auteur Topic: Canadese coeliakievereniging raadt drinken 'glutenvrij gemaakt' bier af  (gelezen 390 keer)

tine

  • Gold Member
  • Berichten: 8695
  • Geslacht: Vrouw
  • Nulglutendieet
Omdat de hoeveelheid gluten in bier met de huidige testen niet goed gemeten kan worden, raadt de Canadese coeliakievereniging patiënten met coeliakie af om bier te drinken die gemaakt is van tarwe, rogge of gerst en die bewerkt is (meestal met enzymen) om het glutengehalte te verminderen. Geadviseerd wordt om alleen bier te drinken die gemaakt is van glutenvrije granen zoals millet, rijst, boekweit of sorghum. In Canada staan de ingrediënten van bier nog niet op het etiket, maar dat gaat vanaf december 2022 veranderen. Dan moeten de ingrediënten vermeld worden en ook de allergenen, net zoals bij andere voedingsmiddelen. Bier gemaakt van tarwe, rogge of gerst mag in Canada niet glutenvrij genoemd worden, inclusief speciaal bewerkt bier waarbij het glutengehalte is verlaagd. 

Dit staat in de nieuwsbrief van de Canadese coeliakievereniging:


Individuals with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity are often confused about alcoholic beverages, especially beer. Beer, ale and lagers are typically made from barley, wheat or rye. Unfortunately these gluten sources were not required to be declared on the label. Beer is not included with other food and beverage labelling standards. Beer was the only prepackaged food that was exempted from labelling priority food allergens and gluten sources.

During Celiac Awareness Month in May, the Canadian Celiac Association was pleased to be one of the major advocates for having the beer labelling standards revised by Health Canada. Starting in December 2022, the priority allergens and gluten sources are required to be included on a beer’s label. So you can feel more comfortable reading the label and know whether beer, ale or lager is gluten free. You can read the full news release here: https://www.celiac.ca/new-labelling-requirements-coming-to-beer/.
 
There are various gluten-free grains such as millet, rice, buckwheat and sorghum that can be malted to make gluten-free beer, ale and lagers produced in a dedicated gluten-free facility. The ELISA test, which is the common test used during manufacturing to test for gluten, cannot accurately measure the gluten content in beer. This means that “gluten-removed” or “gluten-reduced” beers made from barley, wheat or rye are problematic. Because of this issue, Health Canada does not allow these products to be labelled “gluten free” and the CCA recommends that individuals with celiac disease avoid these beers.
 
It is important to note that other countries have different regulations. For example, some European countries allow gluten-removed beers to be called gluten free, which causes confusion with consumers. Avoid foods and beverages that you are skeptical of when travelling or do your research beforehand to ensure you stay safe while enjoying your vacation.
Mijn zoon (20) en ik eten allebei glutenvrij. Wij zijn extreem gevoelig voor sporen van gluten (via besmetting, tarwe-derivaten en hulpstoffen). Ik ben wetenschapsredacteur voor het Glutenvrij Magazine van de NCV.